

#### **Northern Territory Election Update**

#### November 2015

The next Northern Territory election is scheduled to be held on the 27 August 2016.

The Northern Territory Legislative Assembly is a unicameral parliament consisting of 25 members. Currently, the Country Liberal Party (CLP) leads the Northern Territory Government in a minority government.

Country Liberal Party	Labor Party	Independents
Adam Giles, Chief Minister	Michael Gunner, Opposition Leader	Alison Anderson
Member for Braitling	Member for Fannie Bay	Member for Namatjira
Margin 19.6%	Margin 6.4%	Margin 22.8% (CLP at time of
		election)
Nathan Barrett	Natasha Fyles	Robyn Lambley
Member for Blain	Member for Nightcliff	Member for Araluen
Margin 15.1% (by-election)	Margin 9.2%	Margin: 20% (CLP at time of
		election)
Peter Chandler	Nicole Manison	Larisa Lee
Member for Brennan	Member for Wanguri	Member for Arnhem
Margin 14%	Margin 6.9% (by-election)	Margin: 4.3% (CLP at time of
		election)
Matthew Conlan	Gerry McCarthy	Kezia Purick
Member for Greatorex	Member for Barkly	Member for Goyder
Margin 14.8%	Margin 7.6%	Margin 16% (CLP at time of
		election)
John Elferink	Lauren Moss	Gerry Wood
Member for Port Darwin	Member for Casuarina	Member for Nelson
Margin 9.2%	Margin 8.9%	Margin 9.2%
Lia Finocchiaro	Ken Vowles	Delia Lawrie
Member for Drysdale	Member for Johnston	Member for Karama
Margin 11.5%	Margin 6.6%	Margin 6.4%(ALP at time of
		election)
Gary Higgins	Lynne Walker	
Member for Daly	Member for Nhulunbuy	
Margin 5.2%	Margin 13.7 %	
Francis Xavier		
Member for Arafura		
Margin: 2.4%		
Bess Price		
Member for Stuart		
Margin 5.5%		

HB-



Peter Styles		
Member for Sanderson		
Margin 3.2%		
Dave Tollner		
Member for Fong Lim		
Margin 0.2%		
William Westra Van Holthe		
Member for Katherine		
Margin 22.3%		
Total: 12 seats	Total: 7 seats	Total: 6 seats

## **Key Personnel**

# Chief Minister the Hon Adam Giles MLA

Adam Giles replaced the Hon Terry Mills as leader of the Country Liberal Party on 13 March 2013.

Mr Giles was elected to the seat of Braitling at the 2008 election.

Following the 2012 election, Mr Giles became the Minister for Transport, Infrastructure and Local Government.

Giles was born in the Blue Mountains. He started his career in the public sector, later moving to Canberra to work as a social and economic policy advisor for the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and Department of Employment and Workplace Relations.

Mr Giles policy interests include infrastructure development in the Northern Territory, sustainability and ensuring that the Northern Territory is a commercial hub that connects the Australian economy with Asia.

Giles is the first head of government in Australia to have Indigenous Australian ancestry.

## **Opposition Leader the Hon Michael Gunner MLA**

Mr Gunner was elected Labor leader on 19 April 2015.

Mr Gunner was elected to the seat of Fannie Bay in 2008.

He is currently the Opposition Leader, Shadow Treasurer, Shadow Minister for Major Projects, Northern Australia Development, Police, Fire and Emergency Services, Open and Transparent Government and Business.

Mr Gunner is a fourth generation Territorian who was born in Alice Springs, went to primary school in Tennant Creek, and graduated from Charles Darwin University. He was involved in student politics and







served as policy advisor to, then Chief Minister, Claire Martin. When Ms Martin retired in 2008, Mr Gunner took over the seat of Fannie Bay.

# History of Government in the Northern Territory

The first Legislative Council for the Northern Territory was formed in March 1948. In 1974 the Legislative Council was replaced by a fully elected Legislative Assembly with nineteen members. In 1978 the Territory achieved self-government and in 1982, the number of members in the Legislative Assembly increased to 25.

From the Parliament's establishment in 1974 until the 2001 Territory election, the Legislative Council and later Legislative Assembly were controlled by the CLP.

In 2001, the ALP, led by the Hon Clare Martin, won government. The ALP increased its majority to 19 seats at the 2005 election. Ms Martin served as the Territory's first Labor and first female Chief Minister until her resignation in 2007.

In 2007, the Hon Paul Henderson took over as leader of the ALP and Chief Minister. In 2008 he won the election with a one-seat majority.

On 4 June 2009, former Labor Minister, the Hon Marion Scrymgour resigned from the ALP and moved to the crossbench as an independent. In August 2009, Labor MLA Alison Anderson, also resigned from the ALP, triggering the CLP Opposition to move a motion of no-confidence against Mr Henderson, which was defeated by one vote. The ALP continued to lead in minority government with the support of Independent MLA Gerry Wood.

At the 2012 Northern Territory election, the 11-year Labor government, led by Chief Minister Henderson, was defeated by the CLP Opposition, led by Terry Mills MLA, with a gain of four seats.

## 2012 to 2015

Five members of the Country Liberal Party have left the CLP to become independents since coming into office at the last election in August 2012, with one member (Francis Xavier) returning to the CLP.

A by-election for the seat of Wanguri was held on 16 February 2013, following the resignation of former Chief Minister the Hon Paul Henderson. Nicole Manison from the ALP was selected with nearly 70 per cent of the Two Party Preferred vote.

On 13 March 2013, while then-Chief Minister the Hon Terry Mills MLA was on a trade visit to Japan, the Hon Adam Giles MLA, with the support of the Hon Dave Tollner MLA, successfully challenged for the leadership. As a result, Mr Mills was replaced as Chief Minister by Mr Giles. On 20 February 2014, Mr Mills announced his resignation from Parliament.

A by-election for the seat of Blain was held on 12 April 2014 following Mr Mills's resignation. The CLP candidate Nathan Barrett held the seat, and was elected with 53.2 per cent of the 2-party preferred vote (representing roughly a 10% swing to Labor).

Willem Westra van Holthe launched an unsuccessful leadership bid within the CLP, on 2 February 2015. Though he was successful in achieving enough votes within the CLP to take over as leader, Mr Westra van Holthe did not hold enough votes on the floor of Parliament to successfully take over as leader of



the Government. The stalemate was resolved at a party meeting on the afternoon of 3 February. An agreement was reached whereby Mr Giles would continue as leader, and Mr Westra Van Holthe would become his Deputy.

On the 13 April 2015, the ALP's Caucus brought on a leadership spill to resolve leadership issues around the Hon Delia Lawrie, and findings from Ms Lawrie's ongoing Supreme Court case. Michael Gunner challenged then the leader on 15 April 2015. Four days later, following Ms Lawrie's resignation, Mr Gunner was elected Labor leader unopposed.

On the 2 October 2015, the ALP announced its preselected candidates for the 2016 election endorsing Ngaree Ah Kit as the ALP Candidate for the seat of Karama, and dis-endorsing sitting member Delia Lawrie.

On the 8<sup>th</sup> October Delia Lawrie confirmed she will run as an independent in the seat of Karama.

#### 2016 Election

The next Northern Territory election is scheduled to be held on the 27 August 2016.

The final electoral boundaries for the 2016 election have been released, with the abolishment of central Australian seat Greatorex and creation of a new Palmerston seat Spillett. The newly created seat is likely to be won by the CLP.

It is predicted Dave Tollner could contest the seat of Spillett with a CLP strong margin of 17.9%. The redistribution has made the once strongly CLP held seat of Fong Lim highly marginal and is now a strong prospect for Labor.

#### **Further information**

For more background on the NT Parliament click here.