

Kevin Rudd's Ministry

July 2013

Following his election and re-appointment as Prime Minister and decisions by various Ministers to retire or to go to the backbench, the Hon. Kevin Rudd MP announced his new Cabinet and Ministry on 1 July 2013.

The announcement today of the Hon. Kevin Rudd MP's new Ministry is a significant signal about the Government's priorities and policy direction. It is clear from statements made by the Prime Minister that there are some significant policy issues that will be addressed in coming months and with the date of the election now unknown, the Government has time to make them. The following is a summary of the major changes.

Deputy Prime Minister the Hon. Anthony Albanese MP retains his previous roles as Minister for Infrastructure and Transport and Leader of the House, and also takes on the portfolio of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy.

The Hon. Chris Bowen MP was appointed Treasurer on 27 July 2013 and also will be responsible for Financial Services and Superannuation.

Leader of the Government in the Senate Senator the Hon. Penny Wong retains her portfolio of Finance and Deregulation. Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate Senator the Hon. Jacinta Collins retains her role as Manager of Government Business in the Senate and takes on the portfolio of Mental Health and Ageing.

The Hon. Mark Butler MP takes over the portfolio of Minister for Climate Change, Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Water. The Hon. Tony Burke MP is the new Minister for Immigration, Multicultural Affairs and Citizenship and retains his position as Minister for the Arts.

The Hon. Brendan O'Connor MP takes on the portfolios of Minister for Employment and Minister for Skills and Training. The Hon. Bill Shorten MP retains the portfolio Workplace Relations and adds responsibility for Education.

Senator the Hon. Kim Carr returns to Cabinet as Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research and Minister for Higher Education. The Hon. Tanya Plibersek MP adds Medical Research to her responsibilities as Minister for Health.

Further additions to Cabinet include the Hon. Julie Collins MP as the Minister for Housing and Homelessness, Community Services, Status of Women, and Indigenous Employment and Economic

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 2 6111 2191 FAX +61 2 6295 8400

Suite 17c, National Press Club, 16 National Circuit, BARTON ACT 2600 • PO Box 4101, MANUKA ACT 2603



Development, and the Hon. Richard Marles MP as the Minister for Trade. The Hon. Catherine King MP will serve in Cabinet as the Minister for Regional Australia, Local Government and Territories. The Hon. Joel Fitzgibbon MP rejoins the Cabinet as Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry.

The Hon. Mark Dreyfus QC MP continues on as Attorney-General, Special Minister of State and Minister for Emergency Management and Minister for Public Service and Integrity have been added to his title, Senator the Hon. Bob Carr retains Foreign Affairs and the Hon. Stephen Smith MP retains Defence. The Hon. Jenny Macklin MP continues on as Minister for Families, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs and Minister for Disability Reform.

Changes to the Outer Ministry and Parliamentary Secretaries are contained in the table below.

Cabinet	
The Hon Kevin Rudd MP	Prime Minister
The Hon Anthony Albanese MP	Deputy Prime Minister
	Minister for Infrastructure and Transport
	Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy
	Leader of the House
Senator the Hon Penny Wong	Minister for Finance and Deregulation
	Leader of the Government in the Senate
Senator the Hon Jacinta Collins	Minister for Mental Health and Ageing
	Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate
	Manager of Government Business in the Senate
The Hon Chris Bowen MP	Treasurer
The Hon Stephen Smith MP	Minister for Defence
The Hon Jenny Macklin MP	Minister for Families, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs
	Minister for Disability Reform
Senator the Hon Bob Carr	Minister for Foreign Affairs
The Hon Tony Burke MP	Minister for Immigration, Multicultural Affairs and Citizenship
	Minister for the Arts
	Vice-President of the Executive Council
The Hon Bill Shorten MP	Minister for Education
	Minister for Workplace Relations
The Hon Tanya Plibersek MP	Minister for Health and Medical Research
The Hon Mark Butler MP	Minister for Climate Change Minister for the Environment, Heritage and
	Water
The Hon Brendan O'Connor MP	Minister for Employment
	Minister for Skills and Training
The Hon Mark Dreyfus QC MP	Attorney-General
	Special Minister of State
	Minister for Emergency Management
	Minister for the Public Service And Integrity
The Hon Gary Gray MP	Minister for Resources and Energy
	Minister for Tourism
	Minister for Small Business
Senator the Hon Kim Carr	Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research
	Minister for Higher Education



The Hon Julie Collins MP	Minister for Housing and Homelessness
	Minister for Community Services
	Minister for the Status of Women
	Minister for Indigenous Employment and Economic Development
The Hon Catherine King MP	Minister for Regional Australia, Local Government and Territories
The Hon Joel Fitzgibbon MP	Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
The Hon Richard Marles MP	Minister for Trade

Outer Ministry	
The Hon Jason Clare MP	Minister for Home Affairs
	Minister for Justice
The Hon Kate Ellis MP	Minister for Early Childhood, Childcare and Youth
	Minister for Employment Participation
The Hon Warren Snowdon MP	Minister for Indigenous Health,
	Minister for Defence Science and Personnel,
	Minister for Veterans' Affairs,
	Minister assisting the Prime Minister on the Centenary of ANZAC
The Hon David Bradbury MP	Assistant Treasurer
	Minister for Competition Policy and Consumer Affairs
	Minister Assisting for Deregulation
	Minister Assisting for Financial Services and Superannuation
Senator the Hon Kate Lundy	Minister for Multicultural Affairs
	Minister Assisting for Innovation and Industry
	Minister Assisting for the Digital Economy
The Hon Mike Kelly MP	Minister for Defence Materiel
Senator the Hon Jan McLucas	Minister for Human Services
Senator the Hon Don Farrell	Minister for Sport
	Minister Assisting on Tourism
The Hon Sharon Bird MP	Minister for Regional Development
	Minister for Regional Communications
	Minister for Road Safety
The Hon Melissa Parke MP	Minister for International Development

Parliamentary Secretaries	
Senator the Hon David Feeney	Parliamentary Secretary for Defence
The Hon Sid Sidebottom MP	Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
The Hon Bernie Ripoll MP	Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer
	Parliamentary Secretary for Small Business
The Hon Yvette D'Ath MP	Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Change, Innovation and Industry
The Hon Kelvin Thomson MP	Parliamentary Secretary for Schools
The Hon Amanda Rishworth MP	Parliamentary Secretary for Environment and Urban Water
	Parliamentary Secretary for Disabilities and Carers
The Hon Shayne Neumann MP	Parliamentary Secretary to the Attorney-General
	Parliamentary Secretary for Health and Ageing
The Hon Michael Danby MP	Parliamentary Secretary for the Arts
The Hon Alan Griffin MP	Cabinet Secretary
	Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister



The Hon Ed Husic MP	Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister
	Parliamentary Secretary for Broadband
Senator the Hon Matt	Parliamentary Secretary for Pacific Island Affairs
<u>Thistlethwaite</u>	Parliamentary Secretary for Multicultural Affairs
	Parliamentary Secretary for Infrastructure and Transport
Senator the Hon Doug Cameron	Parliamentary Secretary for Housing and Homelessness