

## **Northern Territory election outcome**

### September 2016

On 27 August 2016 Northern Territory Labor was elected to Government, having won a majority of seats in the election to form a majority in Northern Territory (NT) Parliament.

Labor won the NT election with a swing of around 6.2% (and up to 35% in some seats), ousting the Country Liberal Party (CLP) after one term.

With recounting now completed, the final outcome has seen Labor winning 18 seats, the CLP retaining 2, and Independents holding 5.

#### **Contents**

Results	1
Key influencing factors:	
Seat by seat results	
History of Elections 1997-2012	
Chief Minister Elect – The Hon Michael Gunner MP	

#### **Results**

A breakdown of the results is as follows:

Party	Current seat number	Gain/loss	Primary vote	Swing
Australian Labor Party (ALP)	18	An net gain of 12 seats, with a swing of up to 35 per cent (two party preferred) in some seats	42.7%	+6.2%
Country Liberal Party (CLP)	2	A net loss of 7 seats, with a swing of 18.9 per cent against it. This represents a (net) loss of 14 seats from the 2012 election	31.7%	-18.9%
Independents	5	A gain of 4 seats. Note, two independents standing in the NT election were CLP at the time of the last election in 2012.	(included under 'other' below)	
1 Territory Party	0	Swing of 3.5 per cent swing (primary) to it	3.5%	+3.5%

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 3 9034 3020 Level 1, 55 Exhibition Street MELBOURNE VIC 3000



Greens	0	Swing of 0.5 per cent (primary) against it	2.8%	-0.5%
Other	0		19.4%	+9.8%

# **Key influencing factors:**

The strong swing against the CLP in the election was driven by public disapproval of a number of scandals and public internal disunity disputes within the CLP Government, including 18 portfolio changes during the CLP's one term of government.

Other issues influencing the election included the CLP's sale of insurer TIO, and the lease of Darwin port, both of which were criticised as decisions taken without consultation with the community.

Labor ran a campaign centred on restoring trust in government, including introducing a number of integrity and transparency measures, and parliamentary reform to better include the public in the government's decision making.

## Seat by seat results

Member elected	Electorate	Party	Change of seat
Lawrence Costa	Arafura	ALP	ALP gain
Robyn Lambley	Araluen	IND	IND retain
Selena Uibo	Arnhem	ALP	ALP gain
Gerry McCarthy	Barkly	ALP	ALP retain
Terry Mills	Blain	IND	IND gain
Dale Wakefield	Braitling	ALP	ALP gain
Tony Sievers	Brennan	ALP	ALP gain
Lauren Moss	Casuarina	ALP	ALP retain
Gary Higgins	Daly	CLP	CLP retain
Eva Lawler	Drysdale	ALP	ALP gain
Michael Gunner	Fannie Bay	ALP	ALP retain
Jeff Collins	Fong Lim	ALP	ALP gain
Kezia Purick	Goyder	IND	IND retain



Ken Vowles	Johnston	ALP	ALP retain
Ngaree Ah Kit	Karama	ALP	ALP gain
Sandra Nelson	Katherine	ALP	ALP gain
Chansey Paech	Namatjira	ALP	ALP gain
Gerry Wood	Nelson	IND	IND retain
Yingiya Mark Guyula	Nhulunbuy	IND	IND ahead
Natasha Fyles	Nightcliff	ALP	ALP retain
Paul Kirby	Port Darwin	ALP	ALP gain
Kate Worden	Sanderson	ALP	ALP gain
Lia Finocchiaro	Spillett	CLP	CLP retain
Scott McConnell	Stuart	ALP	ALP gain
Nicole Manison	Wanguri	ALP	ALP retain

# **History of Elections 1997-2012**

The following table represents the voting trend in NT elections between 1997 and 2016. The Number of seats won by Parties and Independents include:

Party	1997	2001	2005	2008	2012	2016
ALP	7	13	19	13	8	18
Country Liberal	18	10	4	11	16	2
Independents	-	2	2	1	1	5

## **Notable seats**

- With the declaration of Braitling as a win for the ALP, former CLP Chief Minister Adam Giles became just the second Chief Minister to lose his seat in an election.
- This will be the first time that the Labor Party has held the Territory seats of Braitling and Katherine, once strong CLP seats.



• Former Deputy Labor Leader Lynne Walker lost her seat of Nhulunby to Independent Yingiya Mark Guyula (pending a possible legal challenge).

#### Chief Minister- The Hon Michael Gunner MP

The Hon Michael Gunner was elected as NT Chief Minister on 27 August 2016.

Mr Gunner was elected to the Darwin-based seat of Fannie Bay in 2008 and became NT Opposition Leader on 19 April 2015.

He is the formerly held the portfolios of of Shadow Treasurer, Shadow Minister for Major Projects, Northern Australia Development, Police, Fire and Emergency Services, Open and Transparent Government and Business.

Mr Gunner is a fourth generation Territorian who was born in Alice Springs, went to primary school in Tennant Creek, and graduated from Charles Darwin University.

He was involved in student politics and served as policy advisor to, then Chief Minister, Claire Martin.

When Ms. Martin retired in 2008, Mr Gunner took over the seat of Fannie Bay.

Mr Gunner is the first Territorian born Chief Minister.

#### **Further information**

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on Labor's election policies is available here.

The NT Ministry list is available <u>here</u>.

For more information contact your Hawker Britton consultant <u>Claire March</u> on 0403 937 849.