

Forthcoming Elections

September 2014

The following table outlines the possible (or actual where fixed) dates for the next Federal, State and Territory elections (Lower Houses only).

	Last election	Actual (Fixed)	Latest date
Victoria	27 November 2010	29 November 2014	
New South Wales	26 March 2011	28 March 2015	
Queensland	24 March 2012		20 June 2015
Northern Territory	25 August 2012	26 August 2016	
ACT	20 October 2012	15 October 2016	
Federal	7 September 2013		14 January 2017
Western Australia	9 March 2013	11 March 2017	
South Australia	15 March 2014	17 March 2018	
Tasmania	15 March 2014		21 April 2018
New Zealand	20 September 2014		18 November 2017

Federal

The Federal House of Representatives has a 3-year term. The last Federal election was held on 7 September 2013. The election date is not fixed, however the next election must be held no later than a date related to 3 years from the first sitting of the House, which will be 12 November 2013. The latest possible date for the next Federal election is therefore Saturday 14 January 2017.

Victoria

The Victorian Legislative Assembly has a fixed 4-year term. The election is held on the last Saturday in November every 4 years. The next election will be held on Saturday 29 November 2014.

New South Wales

The NSW Legislative Assembly has a fixed 4-year term. Elections are held on the fourth Saturday in March every 4 years. The next election will be held on Saturday 28 March 2015.

Queensland

Queensland's unicameral Parliament has a 3-year term. The election date is not fixed. The next election is to be held no later than 20 June 2015.

Northern Territory

The Northern Territory's unicameral Parliament has a 4-year term. The election is held on the fourth Saturday of August every 4 years. The next election is due on 26 August 2016.

Australian Capital Territory

Australian Capital Territory's Legislative Assembly has a fixed 4-year term. Elections are held on the third Saturday in October every 4 years. The next election will be held on Saturday 15 October 2016.

HB



Western Australia

Western Australia's Legislative Assembly has a fixed 4-year term. The election is held on the second Saturday in March every 4 years. The next election will be due on Saturday 11 March 2017.

South Australia

The South Australia House of Assembly has a fixed 4-year term. Elections are held on the third Saturday in March every 4 years. The next election will be held on Saturday 17 March 2018.

Tasmania

The Tasmanian House of Assembly expires four years from the return of the writs for its election. The Governor must issue writs of election between five and ten days thereafter. Nominations must close on a date seven to 21 days after the issuance of the writ, and polling day must be a Saturday between 15 and 30 days after nominations close. As such, the next election is to be held no later than 21 April 2018.

New Zealand

New Zealand general elections generally occur every three years. New Zealand law requires elections at least once every three years and two months, though elections are often held after three years, traditionally in November. The last election was held on Saturday 20 September 2014.