

Forthcoming Australian Elections

April 2013

The following table outlines the possible (or actual where fixed) dates for the next Federal, State and Territory elections (Lower Houses only).

	Last election	Actual (Fixed)	Latest date
Federal	21 August 2010	14 September 2013	30 November 2013
South Australia	20 March 2010	15 March 2014	
Tasmania	20 March 2010		17 May 2014
Victoria	27 November 2010	29 November 2014	
New South Wales	26 March 2011	28 March 2015	
Queensland	24 March 2012		20 June 2015
Northern Territory	25 August 2012		August 2016
ACT	20 October 2012	15 October 2016	
Western Australia	9 March 2013	11 March 2017	

Federal

The Federal House of Representatives has a 3-year term. The election date is not fixed, however the Prime Minister has announced her intention for the 2013 Federal Election to be held on Saturday 14 September 2013.

South Australia

The South Australia House of Assembly has a fixed 4-year term. Elections are held on the third Saturday in March every 4 years. The next election will be held on Saturday 5 March 2014.

Tasmania

The Tasmanian House of Assembly has a 4-year term. The election date is not fixed. The next election is to be held no later than 17 May 2014.

New South Wales

The NSW Legislative Assembly has a fixed 4-year term. Elections are held on the fourth Saturday in March every 4 years. The next election will be held on Saturday 28 March 2015.

Victoria

The Victorian Legislative Assembly has a fixed 4-year term. The election is held on the last Saturday in November every 4 years. The next election will be held Saturday 29 November 2014.

Queensland

Queensland's unicameral Parliament has a 3-year term. The election date is not fixed. The next election is to be held no later than 20 June 2015.

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 2 6111 2191 FAX +61 2 6295 8400 Suite 17c, National Press Club, 16 National Circuit, BARTON ACT 2600 • PO Box 4101, MANUKA ACT 2603



Western Australia

Western Australia's Legislative Assembly has a fixed 4-year term. The election is held on the second Saturday in March every 4 years. The election date is not fixed. The next election will be due on Saturday 11 March 2017.

Northern Territory

The Northern Territory's unicameral Parliament has a 4-year term. The election date is not fixed. The next election is due in August 2016.

Australian Capital Territory

Australian Capital Territory's Legislative Assembly has a fixed 4-year term. Elections are held on the third Saturday in October every 4 years. The next election will be held on Saturday 15 October 2016.