

Election of Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party

13 September 2013

On Saturday 7 September, following the result of the Federal election, the Hon. Kevin Rudd MP announced he would not recontest leadership of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party.

On Thursday 12 September 2013, <u>the Hon. Bill Shorten MP</u> announced he would nominate for Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party. On Friday 13 September 2013, <u>the Hon.</u> <u>Anthony Albanese MP</u> also announced his intention to nominate for the position of Leader.

Under the rules adopted by the Federal Labor Caucus at the 22 July 2013 special Caucus meeting, the Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party is elected by a 50-50 split vote by Labor branch members and the Federal Labor Caucus. The process for electing a new leader will be governed by these rules adopted by the Federal Labor Caucus.

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on the changes made earlier this year to the way leaders of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party are elected is available <u>here</u>.

The process for electing a new leader

Formal nominations for Leader opened on Friday 13 September at the meeting of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party and will remain open for one week.

As there will be more than one nomination, a ballot of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party and the ALP branch membership will be held to determine the outcome.

The ballot will be conducted by a postal vote and party members will receive paperwork after nominations close on Friday 20 September.

Under the Caucus Rules, only those Labor Party supporters who were on the membership roll as of Election Day 7 September 2013 are eligible to vote.

Voting for eligible Labor members will occur from Tuesday 24 September to Wednesday 9 October.

The Federal Labor Caucus will meet on Thursday 10 October to vote for the Leader.

The final result will announced 13 October. It will be determined by giving equal weight to the decision of the Federal Labor Caucus and the outcome of the ballot of the ALP branch membership.

Under the new rules, the only way to remove the elected Leader would be through a 60 per cent vote of no confidence by the Federal Labor Caucus.

Once the Leader has been elected, the Federal Labor Caucus will decide the members of the Shadow Ministry.

Caucus has appointed Chris Bowen as the Acting Leader until the ballot is determined. Other frontbench roles will remain unchanged until the new leadership team is in place.

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 2 6111 2191 FAX +61 2 6295 8400 Suite 17c, National Press Club, 16 National Circuit, BARTON ACT 2600 • PO Box 4101, MANUKA ACT 2603

HB