

Election of Federal Labor Leadership and Shadow Ministry

14 October 2013

Following the election of the Hon. <u>Bill Shorten</u> MP as Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party, the Federal Labor Caucus met in Canberra on Monday 14 October to elect the Opposition front bench.

The Hon. <u>Tanya Plibersek</u> MP was elected as Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party. Senator the Hon. <u>Penny Wong</u> was elected Leader of the Opposition in the Senate. Senator the Hon. <u>Stephen Conroy</u> was elected Labor's Deputy Leader in the Senate.

Mr Chris Hayes MP was elected to the position of Chief Opposition Whip.

The full Shadow Ministry list can be found on the next page.

The process for electing both the Labor Leader and Shadow Ministry this week followed the rules adopted by the Federal Labor Caucus at the 22 July 2013 special Caucus meeting. Under the rules, the power to pick the frontbench was returned to the Federal Labor Caucus.

Appointment of Shadow Ministry portfolios and Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries

The new Labor Leader, the Hon. Bill Shorten MP, will assign portfolios on Friday 18 October.

At this time, the Hon. Bill Shorten MP will also appoint the Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries and assign their portfolios.

Further information

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on the direct election of the Hon. Bill Shorten MP as Federal Labor Leader is available <u>here</u>.

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on the changes made earlier this year to the way leaders of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Party are elected is available <u>here</u>.

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on announcement of the direct election of the Federal Labor Leader is available <u>here</u>.

Shadow Ministry

Leader – The Hon. Bill Shorten MP Deputy Leader – The Hon. Tanya Plibersek MP Leader in the Senate – Senator the Hon. Penny Wong Deputy Leader in the Senate – Senator the Hon. Stephen Conroy

The Hon. Anthony Albanese MP The Hon. Sharon Bird MP The Hon. Chris Bowen MP The Hon. Tony Burke MP The Hon. Mark Butler MP Senator the Hon. Doug Cameron Senator the Hon. Kim Carr The Hon. Jason Clare MP The Hon. Julie Collins MP The Hon. Mark Dreyfus MP The Hon. Kate Ellis MP Senator the Hon. Don Farrell The Hon. David Feeney MP The Hon. Joel Fitzgibbon MP The Hon. Gary Gray MP The Hon. Catherine King MP The Hon. Andrew Leigh MP The Hon. Jenny Macklin MP The Hon. Richard Marles MP Senator the Hon. Jan McLucas Senator Claire Moore The Hon. Shayne Neumann MP The Hon. Brendan O'Connor MP The Hon. Melissa Parke MP The Hon. Bernie Ripoll MP Ms Michelle Rowland MP