

Appointment of Commonwealth Departmental Secretaries and Administrative Arrangements Order

September 2013

Following the swearing-in of the first Abbott Ministry on 18 September, the following appointments of Departmental Secretaries were confirmed.

| Department | Secretary | First Appointed |
|--|--------------------------|-----------------|
| Department of Agriculture | Dr Paul Grimes PSM | September 2013 |
| Attorney-General's Department | Mr Roger Wilkins AO | September 2008 |
| Department of Communications | Mr Drew Clarke PSM | March 2013 |
| Department of Defence | Mr Dennis Richardson AO | October 2012 |
| Department of Education | Ms Lisa Paul AO PSM | December 2007 |
| Department of Employment | Ms Renée Leon PSM | September 2013 |
| Department of Environment | Dr Gordon de Brouwer PSM | September 2013 |
| Department of Finance | Mr David Tune PSM | August 2009 |
| Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade | Mr Peter Varghese AO | December 2012 |
| Department of Health | Ms Jane Halton PSM | January 2002 |
| Department of Human Services (Part of the | Ms Kathryn Campbell CSC | March 2011 |
| Social Services Portfolio) | | |
| Department of Immigration and Border | Mr Martin Bowles PSM | January 2013 |
| Protection | | |
| Department of Industry | Ms Glenys Beauchamp PSM | September 2013 |
| Department of Infrastructure and Regional | Mr Mike Mrdak | June 2009 |
| Development | | |
| Department of the Prime Minister and | Dr Ian Watt AO | September 2011 |
| Cabinet | | |
| Department of Social Services | Mr Finn Pratt PSM | April 2011 |
| Treasury | Dr Martin Parkinson PSM | March 2011 |
| Department of Veterans' Affairs (Part of the | Mr Simon Lewis PSM | July 2013 |
| Defence Portfolio) | | |

Treasury Secretary Dr Martin Parkinson PSM also advised the Treasurer that he will be standing down mid-2014. No replacement has been announced.

The Administrative Arrangements Order was released and is available <u>here</u>. The Administrative Arrangements Order assigns policy responsibility and the administration of legislation to specific departments.

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 2 6111 2191 FAX +61 2 6295 8400 Suite 17c, National Press Club, 16 National Circuit, BARTON ACT 2600 • PO Box 4101, MANUKA ACT 2603

HB SYDNEY I MELBOURNE I BRISBANE I PERTH I ADELAIDE I CANBERRA I An stwgroup company