

## **Commonwealth Departmental Secretaries Update**

## October 2014

On 30 October Minister the Hon Tony Abbott MP announced the appointment of Mr Michael Thawley AO as Secretary of the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet. The appointment follows the resignation of former Secretary Dr Ian Watt AO earlier in October.

Mr Thawley was Australia's Ambassador to the United States between 2000 and 2005, and has served as the senior adviser on international relations to former Prime Minister the Hon John Howard OM AC.

The Prime Minister's media release is available here.

There has also been a number of other Departmental Secretaries appointed in the past few months.

On 3 September Prime Minister the Hon Tony Abbott MP announced he would be recommending two Departmental Secretary appointments to the Governor-General His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC.

The Prime Minister has recommended the appointment of Mr Chris Moraitis PSM as Secretary of the Attorney-General's Department for a period of five years from 15 September 2014. The Prime Minister also announced he would be recommending the appointment of Mr Martin Bowles PSM as Secretary of the Department of Health for a period of five years from 13 October 2014.

The Prime Minister's media release is available here.

On 2 October, Prime Minister Abbott announced Mr Michael Pezzullo has been appointed as the Secretary of the Department of Immigration of Border Protection for five years from 13 October 2014.

The Prime Minister's media release is available here.

Additionally, Dr Martin Parkinson PSM is due to conclude his term as Secretary of the Treasury after the G20 meeting around November 2014.

A list of Departmental Secretaries updated to include the Prime Minister's recommendations (pending official appointment) is included on the next page.



## **Departmental Secretaries October 2014**

Department	Secretary	First appointed
Department of Agriculture	Dr Paul Grimes PSM	September 2013
Attorney-General's Department	Mr Chris Moraitis PSM	September 2014
Department of Communications	Mr Drew Clarke PSM	March 2013
Department of Defence	Mr Dennis Richardson AO	October 2012
Department of Education	Ms Lisa Paul AO PSM	December 2007
Department of Employment	Ms Renée Leon PSM	September 2013
Department of Environment	Dr Gordon de Brouwer PSM	September 2013
Department of Finance	Ms Jane Halton PSM	July 2014
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade	Mr Peter Varghese AO	December 2012
Department of Health	Mr Martin Bowles PSM	September 2014
Department of Human Services (Part of the Social Services Portfolio)	Ms Kathryn Campbell CSC	March 2011
Department of Immigration and Border Protection	Mr Michael Pezzullo	October 2014
Department of Industry	Ms Glenys Beauchamp PSM	September 2013
Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development	Mr Mike Mrdak	June 2009
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet	Mr Michael Thawley AO	December 2014
Department of Social Services	Mr Finn Pratt PSM	April 2011
Treasury	Dr Martin Parkinson PSM	March 2011
Department of Veterans' Affairs (Part of the Defence Portfolio)	Mr Simon Lewis PSM	July 2013