

Announcement of first Abbott Ministry

September 2013

On 18 September 2013 the first Abbott Ministry was sworn-in. The full list of Cabinet, Outer Ministry and Parliamentary Secretary appointments can be found on the following pages.

The Administrative Arrangements Order was also released and is available here. The Administrative Arrangements Order assigns policy responsibility and the administration of legislation to specific departments.

In addition to the appointments below, Mr Abbott has indicated his support for the Hon. Bronwyn Bishop MP, Member for Mackellar, to become Speaker of the 44th Parliament. He also supported the Hon. Philip Ruddock MP, Member for Berowra, to serve as Chief Government Whip.

The above two appointments will have to be ratified by the joint Coalition party room.

Mr Abbott confirmed that the 44th Parliament will sit for the first time at the end of October or early November 2013, at a date to be announced.



Cabinet Prime Minister The Hon Tony Abbott MP **Deputy Prime Minister** Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development (Leader of the Nationals) The Hon Warren Truss MP Minister for Foreign Affairs (Deputy Leader of the Liberal Party) The Hon Julie Bishop MP Minister for Employment Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on the Public Service (Leader of the Government in the Senate) **Senator the Hon Eric Abetz** Attorney-General Minister for the Arts (Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate) (Vice-President of the Executive Council) Senator the Hon George Brandis QC Treasurer The Hon Joe Hockey MP Minister for Agriculture (Deputy Leader of the Nationals) Mr Barnaby Joyce MP Minister for Education (Leader of the House) The Hon Christopher Pyne MP Minister for Indigenous Affairs (Leader of the Nationals in the Senate) **Senator the Hon Nigel Scullion** Minister for Industry The Hon Ian Macfarlane MP Minister for Social Services The Hon Kevin Andrews MP Minister for Communications The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP Minister for Health Minister for Sport The Hon Peter Dutton MP Minister for Small Business The Hon Bruce Billson MP Minister for Trade and Investment The Hon Andrew Robb AO MP

Minister for Defence

Senator the Hon David Johnston

Minister for the Environment

The Hon Greg Hunt MP

Minister for Immigration and Border Protection

Mr Scott Morrison MP

Minister for Finance

Senator Mathias Cormann



Outer Ministry

Assistant Minister for Social Services

(Manager of Government Business in the Senate)

Senator Mitch Fifield

Assistant Minister for Employment

(Deputy Leader of the House)

Mr Luke Hartsuyker MP

Assistant Minister for Health

(Deputy Leader of the Nationals in the Senate)

Senator Fiona Nash

Minister for Veterans' Affairs

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC

Special Minister of State

Senator the Hon Michael Ronaldson

Assistant Minister for Education

The Hon Sussan Ley MP

Minister for Human Services

Senator Marise Payne

Minister for Justice

Mr Michael Keenan MP

Assistant Minister for Defence

Mr Stuart Robert MP

Assistant Minister for Immigration and Border Protection

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Women

Senator Michaelia Cash

Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development

Mr Jamie Briggs MP

Assistant Treasurer

Senator Arthur Sinodinos AO

Parliamentary Secretaries

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Agriculture

Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Industry

The Hon Bob Baldwin MP

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Foreign Affairs

Senator the Hon Brett Mason

Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer

Mr Steven Ciobo MP

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Social Services

Senator Concetta Fierravanti-Wells

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for the Environment

Senator Simon Birmingham

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education

Senator Scott Ryan

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Defence

Mr Darren Chester MP

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Communications

Mr Paul Fletcher MP

Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister

Mr Josh Frydenberg MP

Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister

Mr Alan Tudge MP

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Finance

Mr Michael McCormack MP