

Changes to the South Australian Ministry

May 2014

On 27 May South Australian Premier the Hon Jay Weatherill MP announced that former South Australian Liberal Leader, the Hon Martin Hamilton-Smith MP, would become a Minister in the South Australian State Government. Mr Hamilton-Smith has resigned from the South Australian Liberal Party and will sit on the crossbenches as an independent Liberal.

Hawker Britton's Updated South Australian Ministry List is available here.

Background

On Saturday 15 March 2014 the South Australian state election was held. Labor won 23 of the 47 Lower House seats, with the Liberals securing 22 seats. The remaining two seats, Fisher and Frome, were won by independents Dr Bob Such and Mr Geoff Brock respectively.

On Sunday 23 March 2014 Independent MP Mr Brock announced he would support a Labor minority government in South Australia. This followed the announcement by Dr Such on 23 March 2014 that he would be seeking leave from the Parliament due to health-related issues. This gave Labor an effective two-seat majority on the floor of the Parliament on matters of confidence and supply.

Mr Brock was given the roles of Minister for Regional Development and the Minister for State and Government Local Relations in the returned Labor government.

The Agreement

On 27 May 2014 the Hon Martin Hamilton-Smith MP, former Leader of the South Australian Liberals and member for Waite, announced he had resigned from the South Australian Liberal Party and would sit on the crossbenches as an independent Liberal.

Following his resignation from the South Australian Liberals, Mr Hamilton-Smith signed an Agreement with Premier Weatherill to join cabinet.

Under the Agreement, Mr Hamilton-Smith has become Minister for Investment and Trade, Defence Industries and Veterans' Affairs in the Weatherill Government and guarantees his support for the Government in key Parliamentary votes such as supply and no-confidence motions.

The Hon Martin Hamilton-Smith MP

Mr Hamilton-Smith was elected Member for Waite in 1997 for the Liberal Party. In October 2001, he was appointed Cabinet Secretary in the Kerin Liberal Government and went on to serve as Minister for Innovation and Tourism and as a Member of Executive Council from December 2001 to March 2002.



Mr Hamilton-Smith was elected Leader of the Opposition by the South Australian Liberal caucus in April 2007, a position which he held until July 2009 when he was replaced by Isobel Redmond.

From April 2007 until November 2012 he held various shadow ministries including economic development, defence industries and industry and trade, and also briefly served as Deputy Leader of the Opposition from March–April 2010.

Following the South Australian election in March 2014, Mr Hamilton-Smith became the Opposition Spokesperson for manufacturing, innovation and trade, small business, defence industries, mineral resources, energy, higher education, automotive transformation, veterans' affairs, science and information technology, business services and consumers.

History of Labor gaining support from independents and minor parties (2002–2014)

Mr Hamilton-Smith is not the first conservative MP to support the South Australian Labor Party.

After the 2002 election produced a hung parliament, Labor formed government with independent support. Following the election, Labor held 23 seats, Liberals 20 seats, SA Nationals one seat, and three seats were held by independents.

On 13 February 2002 independent the Hon Peter Lewis announced that he had signed an agreement to support a Labor Government in exchange for holding a constitutional convention and various concessions for his electorate. As a result of the agreement, he was also appointed Speaker of the House of Assembly.

Labor also later received the support of two other conservative MPs—the Hon Rory McEwen and the Hon Karlene Maywald—who became ministers in the Rann Labor Government.

Mr McEwen served as an independent member for the seats of Gordon (1997–2002) and Mount Gambier (2002–2010). In November 2002, Mr McEwen accepted a specially created fourteenth cabinet post in the Labor Government and served in various portfolios, including Local Government, Forests, Industry, Trade, Regional Development, Small Business, Agriculture, and Food and Fisheries. He retained his cabinet position after the 2006 election.

Ms Maywald was a Nationals MP elected to the seat of Chaffey at the 1997 state election. As the Nationals do not have a coalition agreement with the Liberal Party in South Australia, Ms Maywald sat as an independent backbencher during the term of the previous Liberal Government. In 2004, Ms Maywald became a Minister in the Labor Government, signing an agreement with Labor reserving her right to vote against any Government initiative which affected her electorate or the business community

Further information

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on the 2014 South Australian state election is available here.

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on Labor retaining government in South Australia with the support of independent MP Geoff Brock is available here.