

Changes to Labor Shadow Ministry

October 2015

On 13 October 2015, Opposition Leader the Hon Bill Shorten MP announced changes to the Shadow Ministry and appointed new Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries.

Changes to the Shadow Ministerial portfolios are:

- Katy Gallagher will join the Shadow Cabinet as Shadow Minister for Mental Health, Shadow Minister for Housing and Homelessness, and Shadow Minister Assisting the Leader on State and Territory Relations.
- Michelle Rowland will join the Shadow Cabinet as Shadow Minister for Small Business, in addition to her existing role as Shadow Minister for Citizenship and Multiculturalism.
- Dr Jim Chalmers will become Shadow Minister for Superannuation and Financial Services,
 Shadow Assistant Minister for Trade and Investment, Shadow Assistant Minister for
 Productivity and Shadow Minister for Sport.

New Parliamentary Secretaries are:

- Terri Butler has been appointed Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition in addition to her responsibilities as the Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Child Safety and Prevention of Family Violence.
- Ed Husic will be appointed Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Digital Innovation and Startups adding to his existing duties as Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Shadow Treasurer.
- Sam Dastyari will be appointed Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for School Education and Youth, Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition and Deputy Manager of Opposition Business in the Senate.

Bill Shorten's media release is available <u>here.</u>

The Hawker Britton Occasional Paper on the election of the Federal Parliamentary Labor Leadership and Shadow Ministry is available here.



ALP Shadow Ministry	
Leader of the Opposition	Hon Bill Shorten MP
Deputy Leader of the Opposition	Hon Tanya Plibersek MP
Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Development	· ·
Shadow Treasurer	Hon Chris Bowen MP
Leader of the Opposition in the Senate	Senator the Hon Penny Wong
Shadow Minister for Trade and Investment	, ,
Shadow Assistant Minister for Trade and Investment and Shadow Minister for	Dr Jim Chalmers MP
Sport	
Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, Shadow Minister for Defence	Senator the Hon Stephen Conroy
Shadow Assistant Minister for Defence, Shadow Minister for Justice, Shadow	Hon David Feeney MP
Minister for Veterans' Affairs and Shadow Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC	
Shadow Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, Shadow Minister for Cities	Hon Anthony Albanese MP
and Shadow Minister for Tourism	
Shadow Minister for Regional Development and Local Government	Hon Julie Collins MP
Shadow Assistant Treasurer and Shadow Minister for Competition	Hon Dr Andrew Leigh MP
Shadow Minister for Small Business and Shadow Minister for Citizenship and	Michelle Rowland MP
Multiculturalism	
Shadow Minister for Financial Services and Superannuation and Shadow	Dr Jim Chalmers MP
Assistant Minister for Productivity	
Shadow Minister for Finance and Manager of Opposition Business (House)	Hon Tony Burke MP
Shadow Minister for Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Industry and	Senator the Hon Kim Carr
Shadow Minister Assisting the Leader for Science	
Shadow Minister for Vocational Education	Hon Sharon Bird MP
Shadow Assistant Minister for Higher Education and Shadow Assistant Minister	Hon Amanda Rishworth MP
for Education	
Shadow Minister for Communications	Hon Jason Clare MP
Shadow Attorney General, Shadow Minister for the Arts and Deputy Manager	Hon Mark Dreyfus QC MP
of Opposition Business (House)	·
Shadow Minister for Education and Shadow Minister for Early Childhood	Hon Kate Ellis MP
Shadow Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry and Shadow Minister	Hon Joel Fitzgibbon MP
for Rural Affairs	_
Shadow Minister for Resources, Shadow Special Minister for State and Shadow	Hon Gary Gray AO MP
Minister for Northern Australia	
Shadow Minister for Health	Hon Catherine King MP
Shadow Minister for Ageing and Shadow Minister for Indigenous Affairs	Hon Shayne Neumann MP
Shadow Assistant Minister for Health, Shadow Minister Assisting the Leader on	Senator Katy Gallagher
State and Territory Relations and Shadow Minister for Housing and	
Homelessness	
Shadow Assistant Minister for Health	Stephen Jones MP
Shadow Minister for Families and Payments and Shadow Minister for Disability	Hon Jenny Macklin MP
Reform	·
Shadow Minister for Human Services	Senator the Hon Doug Cameron
Shadow Minister for Women, Shadow Minister for Communities and Shadow	Senator Claire Moore
Minister for Carers	
Shadow Minister for Immigration and Border Protection	Hon Richard Marles MP
Shadow Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations	Hon Brendan O'Connor MP
Shadow Minister for Employment Services	Hon Julie Collins MP
a control ambie (memorae mass	



ALP Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries	
Shadow Cabinet Secretary	Senator the Hon Jacinta
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition	Collins
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition	Hon Michael Danby MP
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for the Arts	
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition	Hon Terri Butler MP
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Child Safety and Prevention of Family	
Violence	
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition	Hon Ed Husic MP
Assisting with Digital Innovation and Startups Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to	
the Shadow Treasurer	
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition	Senator Sam Dastyari
Deputy Manager of Opposition Business (Senate)	
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for School Education and Youth	
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Foreign Affairs	Hon Matt Thistlethwaite MP
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Defence	Hon Gai Brodtmann MP
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Development and Infrastructure	Hon Alannah MacTiernan MP
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Western Australia	
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Indigenous Affairs	Hon Warren Snowdon MP
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Northern Australia	
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for External Territories	
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for the Environment, Climate Change and Water	Hon Lisa Singh MP
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Small Business	Hon Julie Owens MP
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Early Childhood Education	
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Manufacturing	Nick Champion MP
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Shadow Attorney General	Graham Perrett MP
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Health	Tony Zappia MP
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Aged Care	Senator Helen Polley
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Families and Payments	Senator Carol Brown
Parliamentary Secretary for Immigration	Hon Matt Thistlethwaite MP

