

The Council of Australian Governments (COAG)

April 2012

The Council of Australian Governments (COAG) is the peak intergovernmental forum in Australia. COAG comprises the Prime Minister, State Premiers, Territory Chief Ministers and the President of the Australian Local Government Association (ALGA). The Prime Minister chairs COAG.

The role of COAG is to initiate, develop and monitor the implementation of policy reforms that are of national significance and which require cooperative action by Australian governments (for example, health, education and training, Indigenous reform, early childhood development, housing, microeconomic reform, climate change and energy, water reform and natural disaster arrangements).

Potential COAG issues may emerge from major initiatives of one government which impact on other governments or that require the cooperation of other governments. Other issues come to COAG from Ministerial Councils. This can be in the course of implementing existing policy, for example, National Competition Policy, or in developing policies such as food regulation reform.

COAG meets on an as-needed-basis and has met 31 times since it was established in 1992. The most recent meeting was held in August 2011. When insufficient issues exist to require a meeting, issues may be settled by correspondence.

Whereas the agenda for the COAG meeting usually is not available publicly prior to the meeting, the outcomes of COAG meetings are contained in communiqués released at the end of each meeting. Where formal agreements are reached, these may be embodied in Intergovernmental Agreements.

To see the communiqué from last meeting please click <u>here</u>.

COAG Reform Council

The Reform Council has been established by COAG as part of the arrangements for federal financial relations to assist COAG in driving its reform agenda. Independent of individual governments, the Reform Council reports directly to COAG on reforms of national significance that require cooperative action by Australian governments. In February 2011, COAG adopted a reform agenda built around five themes of strategic importance which all fall into the intersection of jurisdictional responsibilities. The five themes are:

- A long term strategy for economic and social participation
- A national economy driven by our competitive advantages
- A more sustainable and liveable Australia
- Better health services and a more sustainable health system for all Australians

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 2 6111 2191 FAX +61 2 6295 8400 Suite 17c, National Press Club, 16 National Circuit, BARTON ACT 2600 • PO Box 4101, MANUKA ACT 2603



• Closing the Gap on Indigenous disadvantage.

The COAG reform agenda is implemented through National Agreements, National Partnerships, Water Management Partnerships under the Agreement on Murray-Darling Basin Reform, and other intergovernmental agreements.

To see 'COAG reform agenda: report on progress 2011', click here.

COAG Meeting 13 April 2012

In the lead-up to the COAG meeting on 13 April 2012, the Reform Council has called on COAG to respond to the following issues:

- The COAG reform agenda
- Education and skills
- The seamless national economy

To see the COAG Reform Council's media release, click here.

COAG Business Advisory Forum

On March 6 2012 Prime Minister Julia Gillard announced the establishment of the COAG Business Advisory Forum. The establishment of the Forum is part of the Government's broader deregulation agenda, and will complement existing work being undertaken by COAG's Business Regulation and Competition Reform Working Group. The inaugural meeting of the COAG Business Advisory Forum will be held on 12 April 2012.

To see the Hawker Britton's Occasional Paper on the COAG Business Advisory Forum, click here.

Council for the Australian Federation (CAF)

The Council for the Australian Federation (CAF) was formed in October 2006 to provide an intergovernmental forum for State and Territory leaders. It aims to take a leadership role on key national policy issues that are not addressed by the Commonwealth Government. CAF comprises Premiers or Chief Ministers of all states and territories. Since its inception, CAF has generally held a meeting the day prior to each COAG meeting to allow the states and territories to work towards a common understanding of their positions in relation to policy issues involving the Commonwealth Government. The next CAF meeting will be held on Thursday 12 April 2012. CAF is currently chaired by Premier of South Australia Jay Weatherill.

For more details about CAF, click <u>here</u>.



Current COAG members

Prime Minister of Australia (Chair)

Julia Gillard

Premier of New South Wales

Barry O'Farrell

Premier of Victoria

Ted Baillieu

Premier of Queensland

Campbell Newman

Premier of Western Australia

Colin Barnett

Premier of South Australia

Jay Weatherill

Premier of Tasmania

Lara Giddings

Chief Minister of the Australian Capital Territory

Katy Gallagher

Chief Minister of the Northern Territory

Paul Henderson

President of Australian Local Government Association

Genia McCaffery