

Australian Capital Territory Election 2012

November 2012

The Australian Capital Territory Legislative Assembly Election was held on Saturday 20 October 2012. The election result was formally announced by the ACT Electoral Commission one week later on Saturday 27 October 2012, with eight Labor Members, eight Liberal Members and one Greens Member elected to the 17 member Legislative Assembly.

The ACT Electoral Commission's report is available here.

As neither major party won a majority of the seats in the Assembly, the ACT Greens MLA Shane Rattenbury was able to give his support to either of the two major parties to form a minority government. Following the election, Mr. Rattenbury engaged in negotiations with both the major parities before announcing on Friday 2 November 2012 that he would support ACT Labor to form a minority Government to govern for the 8th Legislative Assembly of the ACT. This will be ACT Labor's fourth consecutive term in Government.

Since self Government, the ACT has only had one majority Government, the Stanhope Labor Government from 2004-2008.

On Thursday 8 November, Chief Minister Katy Gallagher announced her five person Cabinet, which includes Mr. Rattenbury. A full list of Cabinet members and their portfolio responsibilities is available here.

ACT Labor Policies

ACT Labor campaigned on a broad suite of election policies, many of which focused on their key priority areas of health, education and jobs. ACT Labor had 151 election policies costed by ACT Treasury prior to the election. The full detail of these costings is available on the ACT Treasury website, <u>here.</u>

One of the election policies announced by ACT Labor prior to the election was Capital Metro – ACT's light rail project. See Hawker Britton's Occasional Paper on this project <u>here.</u>

ACT Labor also campaigned on implementing significant tax reform. Detail of ACT Labor's tax reform policies were released with the 2012-13 Territory Budget, a summary of which is available <u>here.</u>

Parliamentary Agreement for the 8th Legislative Assembly for the ACT

The Parliamentary Agreement for the 8th Legislative Assembly for the ACT is the agreement between ACT Greens MLA Shane Rattenbury and Ms. Katy Gallagher MLA, leader of ACT Labor, forming Government for 8th Legislative Assembly of the ACT. The agreement was signed on Friday 2 November 2012, and is available in full <u>here.</u>

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 2 6111 2191 FAX +61 2 6295 8400 Suite 17c, National Press Club, 16 National Circuit, BARTON ACT 2600 • PO Box 4101, MANUKA ACT 2603

HB



The agreement confirms that Mr. Rattenbury will guarantee supply and confidence in the Government, that he will support Katy Gallagher as Chief Minister, and that Ms. Gallagher will appoint Mr. Rattenbury as a Minister in the Government.

The agreement also outlines a number of policy commitments both parties agree to implement in the term of the Assembly, including:

- the construction of a light rail network;
- 90 percent of Canberra's electricity to come from renewable sources by 2020;
- restoring the health of Canberra's lates
- the Gonski reforms for education and funding
- taxation reform
- a commitment to new and innovative models for social housing including the construction of a common Ground facility to combat homelessness; and
- helping Canberra households reduce energy, emissions and save money on utility bills.

To the extent of any inconsistency, the Agreement modifies the policy ACT Labor intends to pursue in Government.

Election Result

A total of 256,702 votes were cast in the election. Following the distribution of preferences, the electoral result was that each of the major parities won eight seats, while the ACT Greens won one seat.





The primary vote was particularly close, with the ACT Electoral Commission reporting that both the Canberra Liberals and ACT Labor received 38.9 per cent of the primary vote, with the Canberra Liberals receiving just 41 more primary votes than ACT Labor.

Both the major parties received positive swings in this election, with ACT Labor receiving a swing of 1.5 per cent, and the Canberra Liberals receiving a swing of 7.5 per cent. The ACT Greens received a swing of -4.9 per cent, which saw them go from holding four seats in the Assembly, to just one. ACT Greens MLAs Meredith Hunter, Amanda Bresnan and Caroline Le Couteur were not re-elected.





The 17 MLAs elected in this election in the order in which they were successful in the count are:

Brindabella

- Ginninderra
- 1. Zed Seselja (Liberal)
- 2. Joy Burch (Labor)
- 3. Brendan Smyth (Liberal)
- 4. Mick Gentleman (Labor)
- 5. Andrew Wall (Liberal)

1. Alistair Coe (Liberal)

- 2. Vicki Dunne (Liberal)
- 2. Mary Darter (Labor
- Mary Porter (Labor)
 Chris Bourke (Labor)
- 4. CHIIS BOUIKE (Labor)
- 5. Yvette Berry (Labor)

Molonglo

- 1. Katy Gallagher (Labor)
- 2. Jeremy Hanson (Liberal)
- 3. Andrew Barr (Labor)
- 4. Simon Corbell (Labor)
- 5. Shane Rattenbury (Greens)
- 6. Giulia Jones (Liberal)
- 7. Steve Doszpot (Liberal)

Background: the ACT Electorate

The ACT has three multi-member electorates, Molonglo (seven members), Brindabella (five members) and Ginninderra (five members). The ACT Legislative Assembly has fixed four-year terms, with elections held every four years on the third Saturday in October. The next election will be Saturday 15 October 2016.

Members of the ACT's Legislative Assembly are elected using the Hare-Clark system of proportional representation. Hare-Clark utilises a single transferable vote, and electors vote by showing preferences for individual candidates, rather than voting for "tickets" or following how-to-vote cards. To be elected, a candidate needs to receive a certain quota of votes, which is determined by the total number of ballots cast. Each elector has a single vote, which can be transferred from candidate to candidate according to the preferences shown until all the vacancies are filled.

This system means the electorate is prone to minority governments, with only one majority government in the Territory's self-governing history.