

Independent cross-bench indication of support

July 2016

With the 45th Parliament House of Representatives cross-bench being finalised, Independent MPs who have been elected have made statements - some through their party - indicating their position towards supporting a Coalition Government. At the time of publication, the Federal election had not yet been officially called.

A summary of statements from respective Independents are as follows:

Cathy McGowan MP, Member for Indi, Victoria

On Friday 8 July, Member for Indi, Cathy McGowan indicated that she will contribute to the stability of the 45th Parliament by supporting the Government of the day on matters of supply and confidence.

Ms McGowan also announced that she intends to maintain her independence, and will consider each piece of legislation on its merits and will vote according to her conscience, her electorate of Indi and her view of what is needed for the nation.

Ms McGowan was elected to Parliament at the 2013 Federal election, winning the Liberal-held seat from Sophie Mirabella.

Ms McGowan's full Statement on the Federal Election is available here.

Andrew Wilkie MP, Member for Denison, Tasmania

On Friday 8 July 2016, Mr Wilkie stated his belief the Coalition will form Government and announced his intention to foster stable Government by not supporting a vote against matters of supply and confidence.

Mr Wilkie emphasised that he will not enter into a deal with a party to assist in the formation of Government and will continue to vote on parliamentary business according its merits.

Prior to the election, Mr Wilkie stated that, "History shows that in fact power-sharing Parliaments are often quite stable and reformist, as was the case during the 43rd Parliament."

In 2013, Wilkie announced his support for the Labor Party to form minority Government, in return for a commitment from Labor to allocate \$340 million to the Royal Hobart Hospital and a commitment to reduce problem gambling. His support however, extended only to matters of supply and confidence motions.

Mr Wilkie has held the seat of Denison since 2010.

Mr Wilkie's full Statement on the Federal Election is available here.

Hawker Britton Group Pty Ltd ABN 79 109 681 405 TEL +61 2 6111 2191 PO Box 4101, MANUKA ACT 2603

HB



Rebekha Sharkie, NXT member elect to the seat of Mayo, South Australia

On 2 July – federal election night – Liberal incumbent to the seat of Mayo, Jamie Briggs conceded defeat to NXT candidate Rebekha Sharkie. This is the first seat the NXT have won in the House of Representatives. While the NXT have made no formal statement to indicate who it will support in Government, Mr Nick Xenophon, leader of the NXT has revealed he received a call from Malcolm Turnbull, where he emphasised the need to support and retain the Australian steel industry.

Further details of Mr Xenophon and Mr Turnbull's discussion available here.

Bob Katter MP, Katter Australian Party, Member for Kennedy, Queensland

On Thursday 7 July 2016, Member for Kennedy, Bob Katter, indicated he will provide confidence and support supply matters for a re-elected Turnbull Coalition Government.

Mr Katter however indicated that he reserved the right to withdraw support, and would do so if he perceived that a Turnbull Government was engaging in "union bashing".

This raises questions about whether a Turnbull Coalition Government could pass its <u>Fair Work</u> (Registered Organisations) Amendment Bill and <u>Building and Construction Industry (Improving</u> <u>Productivity) Bill</u> (both of which formed the trigger for the double dissolution election) at a joint sitting.

Mr Katter has held a seat in the House of Representatives since 1993.

Mr Katter confirmed his support for Mr Turnbull via a press conference, available here.

Adam Bandt, Greens Member for Melbourne, Victoria

On Sunday 3 July 2016 Greens leader, Dr Richard Di Natale, indicated that the party, including Mr Bandt, would be willing to enter into negotiations with and provide confidence and support to Opposition Leader Bill Shorten and the Labor Party.

Mr Shorten however, has since stated restated his position throughout the election campaign that he was not willing to enter into any coalition.

At the time of publication the Greens had not held talks with Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull or the Coalition.

Mr Bandt has held the seat of Melbourne since 2010.

Mr Di Natale made this announcement via press conference, available here.

Further information

Hawker Britton's Occasional Paper on the Nick Xenophon Team (NXT) and the party's policy principles is available <u>here.</u>

Hawker Britton's Occasional Paper on how the 44th Parliament Senate voted is available here.