Hawker Britton Occasional Papers and Media

New Federal Shadow Ministry

December 2006

blue bar

Federal Labor Leader Kevin Rudd yesterday announced his new Shadow Ministry. Its composition reflects the four key policy areas upon which Labor will base its election campaign - the economy; social equity; climate change and the environment; and national security.

Deputy Leader Julia Gillard takes responsibility for the new portfolios of Employment and Industrial Relations, and Social Inclusion. Former industrial relations spokesperson, Stephen Smith moves to the Education and Training portfolio.

Wayne Swan continues as Shadow Treasurer, and Lindsay Tanner retains the Finance portfolio. Craig Emerson rejoins the frontbench as Shadow Minister for the Service Economy, Small Business and Independent Contractors. Chris Bowen has also been promoted to the frontbench as Assistant Treasurer.

Peter Garrett assumes responsibility for Climate Change, Environment and Heritage. He retains responsibility for the Arts. Former Environment spokesperson, Anthony Albanese takes specific responsibility for Water and Infrastructure, and also becomes Manager of Opposition Business.

Portfolios have been reshuffled to reflect the Opposition's focus on economic development and industry. Kim Carr in his new role as Shadow Minister for Industry, Innovation, Science and Research is responsible for Labor's alternative manufacturing policy.

Senate Leader Chris Evans takes on National Development, Resources and Energy in recognition of the significance the resources and energy sector will continue to have for Australia's economic prosperity. Simon Crean's portfolio has been expanded, he becomes the Shadow Minister for Trade and Regional Development.

Bob McMullan is responsible for the new portfolio of Federal/State Relations and will oversee the development of Labor's Federalism reform program, flagged by Kevin Rudd last week.

With a range of experience in related portfolios, Robert McClelland becomes the Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs. Joel Fitzgibbon becomes Shadow Minister for Defence.

Tony Burke's Immigration portfolio has been widened to include Integration and Citizenship. Laurie Ferguson also expands his responsibilities to become Shadow Minister for Multicultural Affairs, Urban Development and Consumer Affiars.

Former Deputy Leader Jenny Macklin takes on the Families and Community Services portfolio, including responsibility for Indigenous Affairs and Reconciliation. Tanya Plibersek is responsible for Human Services, Housing, Youth and Women.

Kelvin Thomson becomes Shadow Attorney General, replacing Nicola Roxon who moves to the Health portfolio.

Federal Shadow Ministry
Shadow Minister Portfolio
Kevin Rudd Leader
Julia Gillard

Deputy Leader
Employment and Industrial Relations
Social Inclusion
Chris Evans

Leader in the Senate
National Development, Resources and Energy

Stephen Conroy

Deputy Leader in the Senate
Communications and Information Technology

Anthony Albanese

Water and Infrastructure
Manager of Opposition Business

Arch Bevis

Homeland Security

Chris Bowen

Assistant Treasurer
Revenue and Competition Policy

Tony Burke

Immigration, Integration and Citizenship

Kim Carr

Innovation, Science and Research

Simon Crean

Trade and Regional Development

Craig Emerson

Service Economy, Small Business and Independent Contractors

Laurie Ferguson

Multicultural Affairs, Urban Development and Consumer Affairs

Martin Ferguson

Transport, Roads and Tourism

Joel Fitzgibbon


Peter Garrett

Climate Change, Environment and Heritage

Alan Griffin

Veterans Affairs
Defence Science and Personnel
Special Minister of State

Joseph Ludwig

Justice and Customs
Manager of Opposition Business in the Senate

Kate Lundy

Local Government
Sport, Recreation and Health Promotion

Jenny Macklin

Families and Community Services
Indigenous Affairs and Reconciliation

Robert McClelland

Foreign Affairs

Jan McLucas Ageing, Disabilities and Carers

Bob McMullan Federal/State Relations
International Development Assistance

Kerry O'Brien Primary Industries, Fisheries and Forestry

Tanya Plibersek Human Services, Housing, Youth and Women

Nicola Roxon Health

Nick Sherry Superannuation and Intergenerational Finance, Banking and Financial Services

Stephen Smith Education and Training

Wayne Swan Treasurer

Lindsay Tanner Finance

Kelvin Thomson Attorney General
Deputy Manager of Opposition Business

Penny Wong Public Administration and Accountability
Corporate Governance and Responsibility
Workforce Participation

hawker britton