Hawker Britton Occasional Papers and Media


June 2005

blue bar

After considerable speculation in the media, the Federal Opposition Leader Mr. Kim Beazley today announced a reshuffle of his frontbench team. Mr. Beazley’s reshuffle represents the first change to Labor’s Shadow Ministry since Mr. Beazley assumed the Labor leadership following the former leader, Mr. Latham’s departure.

The major changes to Labor’s front bench are the following:

Mr. Beazley has also indicated that following Ms Annette Hurley taking her place in the new Senate after July 1, the Shadow Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs role will be filled. Ms Hurley is a former employee of Hawker Britton.

In addition to changing his front bench team, Mr. Beazley has announced the establishment of a key new Strategy Committee. Chaired by Mr. Beazley the committee comprises the following Shadow Ministers: Jenny Macklin, Senator Chris Evans, Senator Stephen Conroy, Anthony Albanese, Tony Burke, Martin Ferguson, Julia Gillard, Kevin Rudd, Nick Sherry, Stephen Smith, Wayne Swan and Lindsay Tanner.

Labor’s National Security Committee, chaired by Mr. Beazley will be: Jenny Macklin, Senator Chris Evans, Senator Stephen Conroy, Arch Bevis, Senator Mark Bishop, Robert McClelland and Kevin Rudd.

hawker britton