Hawker Britton Occasional Papers and Media

Changes to the Shadow Cabinet

February 2009

blue bar

The Leader of the Opposition, Malcolm Turnbull, today (16 Feb 2009) announced changes to the Shadow Cabinet.

Malcolm Turnbull, MP

Leader of the Opposition

Julie Bishop, MP

Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs

Deputy Leader of the Opposition

Warren Truss, MP

Shadow Minister for Trade, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government

Leader of The Nationals

Nick Minchin, Senator

Shadow Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy

Leader of the Opposition in the Senate

Eric Abetz, Senator

Shadow Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research

Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Senate

Andrew Robb, MP

Shadow Minister for Infrastructure and COAG and Shadow Minister Assisting the Leader on Emissions Trading Design

Helen Coonan, Senator

Shadow Minister for Finance, Competition Policy and Deregulation

Joe Hockey, MP

Shadow Treasurer

Ian Macfarlane, MP

Shadow Minister for Energy and Resources

Tony Abbott, MP

Shadow Minister for Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Michael Ronaldson, Senator

Shadow Special Minister of State and Shadow Cabinet Secretary

Nigel Scullion, Senator

Shadow Minister for Human Services

Deputy Leader of The Nationals

Greg Hunt, MP

Shadow Minister for Climate Change, Environment and Water

Peter Dutton, MP

Shadow Minister for Health and Ageing

David Johnston, Senator

Shadow Minister for Defence

Christopher Pyne, MP

Shadow Minister for Education, Apprenticeships and Training

Manager of Opposition Business in the House

George Brandis, Senator

Shadow Attorney General

John Cobb, MP

Shadow Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Michael Keenan, MP

Shadow Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations

Sharman Stone, MP

Shadow Minister for Immigration and Citizenship

Steven Ciobo, MP

Shadow Minister for Small Business, Independent Contractors, Tourism and the Arts


hawker britton